These 86 Republicans Just BETRAYED Americans

Eighty-six House Republicans opposed an amendment to the FISA reauthorization bill that aimed to include a warrant requirement to prevent the U.S. government from spying on Americans without their consent. The amendment, proposed by Republican Arizona Rep. Andy Biggs, resulted in a tied vote of 212-212, with House Speaker Mike Johnson breaking the tie by voting against it. Despite support from key Republicans like Johnson, Majority Leader Steve Scalise, Majority Whip Tom Emmer, and Texas Rep. Dan Crenshaw, the House proceeded to pass the 2-year reauthorization bill without Biggs’ amendment by a vote of 273-147 on Friday. However, a last-minute procedural obstacle raised by Republican Florida Rep. Anna Paulina Luna led to a delay in the final vote until Monday.

“Today is a dark day for America,” Texas Republican Rep. Troy Nehls said in a statement. “It is no secret that the DOJ and the FBI have used and abused FISA to spy on not only the greatest president of my lifetime, Donald J. Trump, but spy on everyday Americans. I could not, in good conscience, vote to give our nation’s weaponized DOJ the power to mass surveil the American people without significant reforms, such as a warrant requirement.”

After the bill was approved, a significant number of conservative Republicans expressed their disapproval towards both their own party and the Democrats. Republican Colorado Representative, Lauren Boebert, strongly criticized the legislation, claiming that it would enable the “deep state to violate Americans’ Fourth Amendment rights.”

The bill, which was publicly opposed by Trump, the presumptive Republican nominee for president, on Wednesday, was criticized for its unlawful application against him and other individuals throughout his campaign.

Recent Articles

Related Stories