Meet the 23 Republicans Who Betrayed Conservatives

(TStarnes) – House lawmakers voted Wednesday to kill a resolution censuring Rep. Rashida Tlaib (D-Mich.) for her harsh criticisms of Israel in the wake of Hamas’s deadly attacks last month.

By the end of the vote, 23 Republicans, joined by all Democrats, in favor of a procedural motion that blocked the disciplinary resolution from reaching the floor. The final tally was 222 to 186.

Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-GA) introduced the censure resolution last week that accuses Tlaib of displaying “antisemitic activity” and “leading an insurrection” at the U.S. Capitol, referring to a demonstration last week when pro-Palestinian protesters rallied outside members’ offices to call for a ceasefire in Gaza.

More than 100 of the protesters were arrested, with a handful being charged with assaulting police officers, according to the U.S. Capitol Police.

“Rashida Tlaib is the most pro-terrorist, pro-Hamas, anti-Israel, antisemitic member of Congress,” Greene said.

The Republicans voting with Democrats include Buck, Armstrong, Duarte, Edwards, Griffith, Grothman, Hageman, Huizenga, Issa, Johnson, LaMalfa, Massie, McClintock, McCormick, Miller (OH), Miller-Meeks, Moolenaar, Roy, Austin Scott, Spartz, Turner, Van Orden, and Walberg.

“I defend freedom of speech even when I disagree with people,” Representative Victoria Spartz, Republican of Indiana, told The New York Times. “She added that she had defended Ms. Greene and Ms. Tlaib, among others, “when sometimes they say crazy stuff.”

She added that Ms. Greene’s decision to brand Ms. Tlaib an insurrectionist crossed a line.

Recent Articles

Related Stories